Courage our network

Edward Snowden awarded Carl von Ossietzky medal

Announced on 14 October 2014, Awarded on 14 December 2014

Edward Snowden, Laura Poitras and Glenn Greenwald have been announced as the recipients of the 2014 Carl von Ossietzky medal. The Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte, founded in 1914, awards the prize at least once every two years to “people or groups who stand out for their exceptional courage and commitment to the realisation, defence and expansion of fundamental and human rights and peace.”

In its citation, the Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte “demands that Snowden be granted asylum in the Federal Republic of Germany, and that he be given free and safe passage to testify as an expert witness before the Federal Parliament commission of inquiry into NSA, and as a prosecution witness in proceedings that the League and other parties have been trying to file against the federal government and secret service agencies for months.”

The medal was formally awarded at a ceremony in Berlin on 14 December.